Meetings

All meetings are held from September to June with a 2 month break for the summer.
(Click on the tab for information and schedules for each of the meeting types available.)

When: Every 4th Tuesday of the month @ 7PM. Visitors welcome.
Where: Algonquin College, Perth (see calendar for map)

The regular meeting is formatted to provide an entertaining and instructive program including guest speakers, member profiles, monthly image theme, constructive critiquing, as well as special slideshow presentations and hands-on learning experiences.

Every regular meeting, there is a review of images submitted for the specific Members Showcase theme category, as well as the general "Anything Goes" category. Members are encouraged to share their images with the club for inspiration and for constructive feedback. We have been having great success using digital submissions for presentation on the projector systems at the meeting venues. For members, this means they simply email in their images, identified with their name and the category, for presentation.

Program Schedule - Regular Meetings - Aug 2019 - June 2020
Note: subject to change without notice

Tuesday August 27, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Management Team - "Club Information"
What to you get with membership? SIGs, Website, Facebook Group, Outings, CAPA
Image Category: To Be Announced
Member Showcase: none
Additional: Membership dues payable
Tuesday September 24, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Henrys Cameras  Alexandra Leask
Image Category: Fairs Festivals and Fun
Member Showcase: Paul Sturmey
Additional: Membership dues payable
Tuesday October 22, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Mike Anderson-Red Bull
Image Category: Giving Thanks
Member Showcase: To Be Announced
Tuesday November 26, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Glenn Bloodworth CAPA Rep
Image Category: Fall Colours
Member Showcase: None
Tuesday December 24, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Meeting Moved to December 17
Image Category: Meeting Moved to December 17
Member Showcase:
Additional:
Tuesday January 28, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Robert Dick Fellow of Royal Astronomical Society of Canada
Image Category: Its a new Year Your Best of 2019
Member Showcase: Shelley Ball
Tuesday February 25, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Rene Jones LCCC Member  A exciting Iceland Photo Adventure
Image Category: Winter Wonderland
Member Showcase: Bruce Raby
Tuesday March 24, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: To Be Announced
Image Category: Dreaming of Warmer Times
Member Showcase: To Be Announced
Tuesday April 28, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Barbara Adams Nature
Image Category: April Showers
Member Showcase: To Be Announced
Tuesday May 26, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Robin Andrew   Unposed Portrait Photography
Image Category: May Flowers
Member Showcase: Dean Sullivan
Tuesday June 23, 7:00PM - Annual General Meeting
Speaker/Topic: There will be no guest speaker at this Meeting
Member Showcase: To Be Announced
Additional: Elections for Club Executive
Fun night of family, friends, and photos
Members bring treats
When: Every 1st Tuesday of the month @ 7PM
Where: Drummond Twsp Hall, Drummond Centre (see calendar for map)

The goal for this special interest group is to cover the basics of good and interesting photography, how to get the most or more out of your camera and to expand your photographic skills using a combination of instruction and hands on experience. We encourage participation with the sharing of images, ideas and experiences.

Program Schedule - Applied SIG - Sept 2019 - June 2020
Note: subject to change without notice

Tuesday September 3, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Composition
Image Category: Best Of Summer
Tuesday October 1, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Natural Lighting
Image Category: Focus on Composition
Tuesday November 5, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Black & White Architectural and Portrait
Image Category: Natural Light
Tuesday December 3, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Gear and Gadgets
Image Category: Black & White  Architectural and Portrait
Tuesday January 7, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Speed/Splash!
Image Category: Creative Lights
Tuesday February 4, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Flat Lay Photography
Image Category: Extreme Shutter Speeds
Tuesday March 3, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Action-Racing
Image Category: Flat Lay Photography
Tuesday April 7, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Artistic Night Photography
Image Category: Action
Tuesday May 5, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Artistry in Images
Image Category: Love the Night
Tuesday June 2, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Pot Luck, year in pictures slideshow,
Image Category: Flat Lay Photography
When: Every 2nd Tuesday of the month @ 7PM
Where: McMartin House, Perth (see calendar for map)

The redefined Digital Darkroom special interest group goes beyond using the computer as a tool - Lightroom (Adobe's photography program), Photoshop (Adobe's graphics program) and ProShow Gold/Producer (the slideshow program), to explore with our cameras with topics such as painting with light, indoor-lighting, outdoor-lighting and a host of other advanced techniques. There'll be lots of opportunity for hands-on learning. This remains a SIG for those wanting to go well beyond the basics.

Below are the Topics and Speakers for the upcoming year. Further description of the topics will be provided the week before the presentations.
The format of the meeting will be as such with certain flexibility depending on the length of the presentations.

  • Presentation and questions
  • Short break (15 min.)
  • Before and After Pictures
  • Combination of: ​
    • What’s new in processing (Show and Tell)
    • Questions from audience about processing – immediate answer provided if possible or answer to follow at the next meeting
    • Video or short live demonstration of tips/techniques

The idea is to make the second part more interactive and participatory.

Program Schedule - Digital Darkroom SIG - Sept 2019 - June 2020
Note: subject to change without notice

Tuesday September 10, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Slideshows and Your Before and After
Tuesday October 8, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Working with Layer Masks
Tuesday November 12, 7:00PM
Topic: Editing Black&White Photos with Graeme Crabb
Tuesday December 10, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Lightroom Develop Module Tools  Bruce McDougall
Tuesday January 14, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Creating your own Website  hosted by Adobe    Sandra Jones
Tuesday February 11, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: Phone Photo Editing Programs  Donna-Marie Burnell
Tuesday March 10, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: To Be Announced
Tuesday April 14, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: To be announced
Tuesday May 12, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: To be announced
Tuesday June 9, 7:00PM
Speaker/Topic: To be announced
When: Every 3rd Tuesday of the month @ 7PM
Where: Drummond Twsp Hall, Drummond Centre (see calendar for map)

Members provide photos that are shown anonymously on the screen for a short period of time. Then critique is provided by the group on different elements (technical, composition, wow factor, and subject matter). The author may intervene to provide more information on the photograph.

Program Schedule - Critiquing SIG - Sept 2019 - June 2020
Note: subject to change without notice

Tuesday September 17, 7:00PM
Image Category: Windows & Doors
Tuesday October 15 7:00PM
Image Category: Local Rural Landscape
Tuesday November 19, 7:00PM
Image Category: Self Portrait
Tuesday December 17, 7:00PM - MAIN MEETING INSTEAD
Image Category: No Critiquing Meeting – Main Meeting moved to 3rd Tuesday of December
Tuesday January 21, 7:00PM
Image Category: Bad Weather
Tuesday February 18, 7:00PM
Image Category: Old and Abandoned
Tuesday March 17, 7:00PM
Image Category: Tools of the Trade
Tuesday April 21, 7:00PM
Image Category: Curves
Tuesday May 19, 7:00PM
Image Category: Water
Tuesday June 16, 7:00PM
Image Category: Create the Mood with Lighting

Comments are closed.